Very basic gear questions!

I’ve got a few VERY basic gear questions that I hope you guys don’t mind me asking – hey, I’m a rookie and you might as well have some good ammo to needle me with when I finally meet you at one of the weekend sessions! The family have decided to get me some gear for father’s day so I better make sure I give them the right info!!

1. Bearings: Back in the day we use to whack anything in, but from what I can tell these days the higher the ABEC number the better (ie, 7s are better than 3s). I see $10 sets of ABEC7s on ebay – are they okay or will more expensive ones make that much difference?

2. Wheels: On the hardness front, I gather the higher the number the faster they are (and better for pools etc) while the lower the number the more forgiving they are (carving etc). Is that right?

Also, as far as wheel diameter goes, what should I be looking for? (I plan to set up a board for pool stuff and one for general street cruising).

1. Decks: As far as length and width go, what are the reasons for longer and wider? (I’m 6’4" with a size 11 hoof if that makes any difference) And the other part of this is obviously matching truck width to deck width… yeah?

2. Accessories: It seems tail blocks have gone the way of the dodo and I rarely see rails either. Gone? Or any reason for getting them?

Again, sorry for the 101 type questions – but I figure if you don’t ask you’ll never learn!!

1)bearings
get rockin ron’s from this website. Bones China red ar almost as good
2)wheels
tempted to say buy coretek wheels which are Aussie made but thats just my opinion. generally hard wheels (97a on the durometer scale) are better for concrete parks and pools. 95a for wood ramps 75a for street riding.
size of wheels is an issue as well 60mm is a great size for park and pool and ramp. 70mm for street.
3)Decks